Attendance Office Phone Number: (610) 237-6410 ex. 2344
PA State Law
The Pennsylvania Compulsory Attendance Law states that a child between the ages of 8 and 17 must attend school on a daily basis. The only exceptions are for illness, doctors’ appointments, family emergency, funerals, religious holidays, and suspensions. All other absences are considered unexcused.
In order for one of the above reasons to be considered excused by law, the parent/guardian must present a note, stating the student’s name, date of absence and the reason, and be signed by the parent. This note must be turned in to the Homeroom teacher within three (3) days of the student’s return to school.
If a student is under 17, the School District is required to consider the unexcused absences as unlawful. The School District is required to cite the parent (and if 13 or over, the child) to the local court for truancy violations following the fourth unlawful absence. If the student is 17 or over, the student will be dropped from the school rolls for non-attendance following ten consecutive days of absence.
IHS ATTENDANCE PROCEDURES
(Also located in the IHS Student Handbook)
Absence 610-237-6410 ex. 2344
In accordance with guidelines of the Pennsylvania Department of Education, the following are considered legal excuses for absence from school: (1) Illness, (2) Death in the immediate family, (3) Impassable roads, (4) Quarantine, (5) Unusual circumstance (approved by the school administration).
Absences of one to three consecutive days will be excused upon receipt of a note to the attendance office from the parent. Absences due to illness that exceed three consecutive days will be excused upon receipt of a written statement from a licensed medical practitioner.
Students who are legally absent from school may make up missed assignments; however, it is the student’s responsibility to see his/her teachers to obtain the required work. Students who are absent without legal excuse will be cited with truancies and will not be granted permission to make up missed work. Students who fail to make-up work after suspensions or absences may earn a failing grade for the assignment. Students below age seventeen (17), who have been cited with truancies, are subject to penalties under the compulsory attendance laws.
Parents may request in advance a legal excused absence for students for Career and Technical Education activities, college visitations, and family travel. Students or parents may pick up the appropriate form from the main office. The completed form must be returned to the office 48 hours prior to the date of the request.
A. Career -Tech Ed activities: forms obtained from Career-Tech Ed School
B. College visitation: seniors only, juniors in special cases
C. Family travel: all trips should be planned to coincide with scheduled school vacations
Compulsory Attendance (Truancy)
In accordance with Section 1354 of The Pennsylvania School Code, the school may report to appropriate authorities’ infractions of the law regarding the attendance of students. Parents or guardians found guilty of an infraction may be fined up to three hundred dollars per day.
A doctor's note is required after a student has missed 10 days, regardless of whether or not the previous absences have been excused. Absences for educational trips, surgery, illness, doctor's appointments, bereavement, etc. are all included in the 10-day limit. If a doctor's note is not provided for each absence after a student has exceeded their 10-day limit, then each day will become unlawful.
If parents or guardians can show that they took every reasonable step to ensure attendance for children thirteen years of age or older, the student can be fined three hundred dollars per day and lose driving privileges up to six months per incident.
Parents having difficulty ensuring their student’s attendance may benefit from contacting the guidance department for support. Early intervention and open communication on the part of the parent/guardian may avert court action.
Students late to first period (after 7:40 a.m.) must obtain a pass from the Attendance Office. Lateness will be excused for medical/dental appointments, or court appearances only. Other urgent reasons must be approved by the administration. Students must submit a note from the examining doctor or dentist or paperwork from the courts explaining the lateness. Lateness after 10:30 a.m. will be recorded as an absence. Excessive lateness can result in unexcused/unlawful absences that will be used for possible truancy proceedings.
Students are not permitted to leave school between the hours of 7:35 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. without first obtaining permission from the office. If a student intends to be excused during the day, he/she must bring a written note from the parent/guardian requesting the sign out to the attendance office the morning of the early dismissal. The note should include:
Student name, grade, date and time of early sign out, parent signature, phone number to confirm note with parent, and doctor’s name if appropriate. (Notes will be verified by school)
No excuse to leave will be given without prior parental/caregiver approval. Students who return to school must report back to the Office with a note. Any early dismissal prior to 9:30 a.m., from which a student does not return, will count as a day of absence. Anyone leaving school without permission will be considered truant and will be subject to disciplinary action. Unless directed by the principal’s office, students are not allowed to call home to secure permission to leave.